School: Dreams and Freedom

Is it important to develop skills in doing what we love, or skills that will make us well rounded as we do at school?

I still can’t decide whether school really benefits us.

I’ve often wondered if we’re wasting our youth on learning to do things that we are told do, not finding out what we want to do by ourselves. Instead of having time to figure ourselves out we are asked to spend our time training to make money for other people.

Is this why so many people are unhappy today? Because they didn’t have the space to dream?

Here is the famous TEDTalks video on this topic; if you haven’t seen it already I highly recommend it:

 

My love-bunny (no, I don’t actually call him that IRL) was upset today because he’s worried about his grades and the expectations of his parents. Naturally it got my cogs running again and I thought “Oh! Another topic for my daily rambling”. Haha. Well what do you think: school = good, or bad?

What do YOU think?

