Exams: the carnage of creativity

So recently I’ve been going through a form of modern day torture, i.e. having to sit exams.

Every day I’m holed up in my room studying, I wonder: is this it? Why is school so important, when it wasn’t my choice to make it a priority? Granted, learning certain skills is imperative if we are to make the right choices in the first place, but is the system right? How much time am I wasting memorising facts when I could be writing stories, or exploring the vast world that nature has to offer me? The world just outside my door, while I ironically travel an hour a day just to get to school?

Just some random thoughts about how upset I get that studying cuts so much into my free time. I feel like a SLAVE, people 😦 I want time to do my own thing. Don’t you ever feel the same? What do you think we should do about this problem of being too busy to do what you really want to do?

What do YOU think?

